20
Oct
11

what are YOU lookin’ at? UPDATED

Conversation in the car today:

Husband: Why is that yo-yo driving so slowly?

Me: Probably talking on his cell phone. Oh, no, look, he’s getting into the left lane so he can turn into Hooter’s. Probably thinking about his “dinner.”

Husband: I ate at a Hooter’s once.

Me: Yeah, I know, I know, for their really good “hamburgers,” like people guys who “read” Playboy for the interviews.

Husband: No, really. I was on a tour with some hockey guys for a tournament and there was a big playoff game and this was the only restaurant that was showing the game on TV.

Me: So you stopped at a lot of restaurants and made inquiries, huh?

Husband: (dodging the question) You know, I didn’t really notice anything all that special. I guess the waitresses were pretty, and they wore really short, tight, shorts.

Me: And had really big boobs.

Husband: Well I guess some of them might have; they can’t really hire based on that can they? Wouldn’t that be discrimination?

Me: I think it’s not discrimination if they say it’s one of the job qualifications.

Husband: But do they have to be big to be “hooters”? I mean, you can have little “hooters” can’t you?

Me: (long silence while I decide how to respond to this ridiculous question)

Husband; Well, no, I guess you can’t. It doesn’t really matter, though, if you’ve seen one set you’ve seen them all. (UPDATED: Should have said this in the first place; this is one of the many reasons why I love him.)

Me: I imagine there might be one or two men in the world who might disagree; more of a “so many boobs, so little time” kind of a thing.

Husband: (awkward silence while he wonders if I’m going to blog about this)

Me: I am so blogging about this.

UPDATED:

Looking for this:

Found this:

Perfect.

If you click on the picture you get a link to an article about discrimination suits being brought against Hooters, mainly by men (poor babies, they’re always treated so shabbily). But the next-to-last paragraph and the last sentence of the article just kill me every time I read them.

“Certainly they have made decisions on who is and who is not eligible for serving positions but that is the appeal of the restaurant. The food is at best mediocre so the main reason to go to the restaurant is, well, the boobs and without those the company will likely suffer a significant decline in their patronage, something which could be devastating in this economy,” said Scrape TV Legal analyst Gabe Hawthorne. “The issue for the courts though is whether or not they are employing prejudicial employment practices. If big breasts and nice legs constitute a significant part of their business model then they could end up with a win, but if they define themselves as a restaurant then they are going to run into trouble.” (Despite temptation, I have decided not to fix the punctuation problems from the above quote.)

Advocacy groups for ugly and fat women are reportedly also watching the proceedings very carefully.    

“Ugly and fat” women have “advocacy groups”? How humiliating do you suppose it is to petition for representation? It’s Hooters. The whole business model is based on the exploitation of pretty, well-endowed, young women. Are ugly, fat women wishing they could work there? Why would any woman want to work there? “Yes, please, sign me up to be gawked at, groped, and treated like an object.” Thanks but no thanks. For that matter, if men want a job, put them in short-shorts and subject them to weighing and measuring (relax, I meant pecs and waist, but okay, maybe that, too), stamp “I am a piece of meat” on their forehead and let them deliver all the hamburgers they want.

Just sayin’.


9 Responses to “what are YOU lookin’ at? UPDATED”


  1. 1 Sam
    October 20, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    I just have to say that there were some playboys in the dorm bathroom once and I went to see the hooters and I left appreciating both them and the articles. You assume a lot but I think your assumption is wrong. A couple of the articles were better than a lot of the usual article magazines.

    • October 20, 2011 at 11:38 pm

      That’s what they say.

      • 3 Sam
        October 21, 2011 at 10:30 am

        I’m admitting that I wasn’t reading it for the articles, therefore it’s not the truthless excuse you think it is, just an excuse based on fact.

        It’s the difference between “I missed your call because I was in the shower” and “I missed your call because I was saving Natalie Portman from a lion attack.” Both are lies, but only one is based in reality.

  2. October 21, 2011 at 1:49 am

    I’m sharing this with my boob-obsessed boyfriend. ^_^

  3. October 21, 2011 at 5:57 am

    I haven’t seen them all and I want to see more, give me more, and more, and …. well, you get the drift dontcha? I try to stay out of places like that, no sense getting all worked up and then coming home, and window shoppin’ just isn’t my bag.

    Now days I just stick to Denny’s, give me my hairball and a bowl of grease and I am happy.

    DS

  4. October 24, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    Hilarious! I would have loved to have been in the car during this:

    Husband: But do they have to be big to be “hooters”? I mean, you can have little “hooters” can’t you?

    Me: (long silence while I decide how to respond to this ridiculous question)

    • October 24, 2011 at 8:21 pm

      Yeah, I got a pretty good laugh out of it. I should be careful though. If I keep blogging every funny conversational exchange we have, Husband might stop talking to me, and that would make me sad.

  5. 9 Greg
    September 30, 2018 at 1:38 pm

    Hilarious! Kudos to Husband for his didactic facilitation. A yogic bramacharya.


Leave a comment


Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 175 other subscribers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 115,567 hits