01
Apr
14

The Ideal Woman

from The Luminaries, by Eleanor Catton:

The ideal woman, in his mind, was one devoted to the project of her own enhancement, who was accomplished in the female arts of embroidery, piano-playing, pressing leaves, and the like; who sang sweetly, read quietly, and demurred to all opinion; who was a charming and priceless collectible; who loved, above all things, to be loved.”

Woman_at_piano_Wallpaper_pzdk6

Well at least there’s the piano-playing.

 

4 Responses to “The Ideal Woman”


  1. 1 jsbfisher
    April 1, 2014 at 11:34 am

    …and the dress!

  2. April 1, 2014 at 3:50 pm

    OK, I admit it. I haven’t read the book. Nor would I. The basic premise of the structure is stupid, hence I would expect no more of the contents. Or perhaps Catton is putting this character forward as a person to be ridiculed? Nonetheless, I don’t enjoy reading about silly people with silly ideas, even if they are of “historical interest”, so I’ll leave this off my reading list.

    • April 1, 2014 at 8:07 pm

      I’m wondering what you’ve heard about the book — I’m actually ~ 200 pages in and liking it quite a lot. (PLEASE don’t tell me the ending or something!!!)

      She is trying to make this person look a little foolish — it’s also a different time and place, so not that far off as far as eras go.


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 182 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Top Posts & Pages

Blog Stats

  • 110,102 hits

