30
May
13

blisters and dirt

Where I’ve been.

At art fairs, getting blisters on my feet; walking the dog, re-opening old blisters; planting flowers and moving flowers and spraying stinky stuff all over my yard to keep the rats-on-long-legs out of my yard.

deer

Grrrr.

Had a good “rant” going a couple of days ago when I read a “financial advice” column that started with the author advising a young new mother who was considering going back to work to pray about her decision.

Really?

That’s financial advice now? To pray?

Got distracted by dinner preparations or Dexter the Dumb Dog or my gin and tonic, though, so it never got written.

Noticed in the NYTimes that Michele Bachman missed three, count them, three, opportunities to change the world. Or maybe it was just politics. But she didn’t. Alas.

And that Angeline Jolie’s aunt died of breast cancer; further vindication of her (Angelina’s) decision to have a double mastectomy as a preventive measure.

And apparently the newest styles for the summer involve completely see-through white tops for women. Any color bra seems to be fine.

Read a little Rilke (Diaries) and paid more than expected for my “oil change” (the new loss-leader for car dealerships to draw you in so they can lube things and replace things and rotate things. What do I know?).

Since eliminating the ONE photo of the couple playing nude Scrabble on what one can only hope was a nude beach (You won’t find it, so don’t bother looking. Sicko.), I have seen my stats go through a subtle transformation.

Looks like this now:

newestsearchterms

Better, I guess, but I’ve lost 3 “followers,” although I can’t help but wonder why they were hanging around if that was all they were looking for. I do still really like the Versace post. I think it was some of my best work. . .

Maybe I’m just not writing enough. Or timely enough. Or funny enough.

If only I had bought a big metal chicken at Bed Bath and Beyond today. . .

 

6 Responses to “blisters and dirt”


  1. May 31, 2013 at 5:47 am

    Well. That was interesting.

    I had to do a lot of googling to get through it, but it was a worthwhile experience.

    I learned that “W.H. Auden jokingly called him (Rilke) ‘the greatest lesbian poet since Sappho’

    I learned about big (and small) metal chickens, and can now see that being able to buy one of these at your local store is more than enough compensation for having a high risk of being shot on your way to the store.

    But gosh, how can you be so upset about having Bambi in you back yard?

    • May 31, 2013 at 9:05 am

      You don’t know Rilke? Get the hither — start with the Duino Elegies.

      And “Bambi” eats everything, despite living in hundreds of acres of forest, including my tomato plants, hostas, tulips, daylilies (most perennials actually), etc., plus they carry ticks, cause my dog to bark incessantly because they are on one side of our little back fence and he’s on the other, and run in front of my car on the highway. What’s not to love?

  2. 3 Don T Kno
    June 7, 2013 at 9:41 am

    I for one am happy Michele Bachman did not do anything while in congress. Lately doing nothing in Washington is becoming a virtue.

    Everyday it’s looking more like 1984 in DC and it now seems both parties are to blame.

    If only our current president would have taken seriously all of the promises he made while he was running for office.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2013/06/07/opinion/president-obamas-dragnet.html?_r=0

    And always claiming to not know what was going on is never a good excuse. Wish I could have my vote back.

    • June 7, 2013 at 9:53 am

      Not happy about these things, either, although I still can’t imagine that voting for Mitt would have made either one of us feel much better.

      • 5 Don T Kno
        June 7, 2013 at 2:28 pm

        As progressives, we cannot remain silent when a president, whom we worked hard to elect and defend at every turn, betrays the very values upon which he ran five years ago.

        The New York Times was right to call out the administration on this, just as others have been right to call out its egregious behavior towards what used to be the free press.

        Progressives should stand with the Times on this. Otherwise, we are just rooting for the name on the jersey, and not for the values that the jersey represents.

        And what leg will we stand on when a president from the other team employs the same tactics? To what surely will be even greater degrees? The have and they will again with even more ease if we let up now.


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 178 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 110,541 hits

