19
Mar
13

maybe not cut out for it after all

A friend had posted a link to this article on her facebook page; an article which outlines 22 things that “Happy” people do differently, presumably from “Unhappy” people.

I thought about linking into it on what I have taken to referring to as “the guru project,” but after I clicked and read through all of the things I’m supposed to “do” in order to be “happy” all I could think was “Who has the time?” Exercise, meditate, dream big, keep up with my friends, spend significant time with my family, get up early???

I despair.

Maybe I’m just not cut out for this.

And no, I’m not one of those women who “want it all.” Who wants it all? I can barely keep track of what I have already. And I kind of wish we would stop being told that we can or can’t have it (all), when really all we want is to be paid fairly, have access to decent child care and affordable health insurance, maybe a school schedule that doesn’t have days off and two hour delays every 6 days, and people in the house who help with the dishes and clean up after themselves.

But get up early?

I had to be at a TV studio at 8:30 this morning, and at 7:20 still couldn’t find my black dress pants, and the coffee grinder was broken, and I realized a) how infrequently I actually have to BE somewhere in the morning and b) how much I really dislike having to BE somewhere in the morning. So I’ll dream big, as long as it doesn’t require me to be at a desk at 9 a.m. 5 days a week, and I’m not going to get up early. (Youcan’tmakemesothere.)

😛

 

 

8 Responses to “maybe not cut out for it after all”


  1. March 19, 2013 at 4:28 pm

    Did you have to play at the TV studio? Was it what it was when you got there? (I’m using that phrase a lot now!)

  2. March 19, 2013 at 9:07 pm

    You ARE funny!
    “…when really all we want is to be paid fairly, have access to decent child care and affordable health insurance, maybe a school schedule that doesn’t have days off and two hour delays every 6 days, and people in the house who help with the dishes and clean up after themselves”

    There’s a lot of “luxuries” in your “all we want” list. 🙂
    I’m with Maslow on this one.
    We only want those things when we’re taking for granted things like a roof over our head and enough food.

    I’ve been reconnecting with The Great Outdoors of late. Never felt happier. Well, not with my clothes on anyway…
    (What can I say? I enjoy a long bath!)

    • March 19, 2013 at 9:14 pm

      Yeah, First-World problems, as First Son likes to say.

      I would enjoy The Great Outdoors more if it would stop f-ing snowing. Although the hot tub has been a nice addition to the household. . .and a bathing suit really puts a damper on things ifyouknowwhatImean.

      Gotta trust somebody who enjoys a long bath.

  3. March 19, 2013 at 11:51 pm

    I reckon there’s some truth in that article, but the trouble is it’s way too simple and full of half-truths and illogical reasoning that doesn’t stand up under closer scrutiny.Worst of all it puts the onus totally on me for my happiness. Sure, I can pretend that everything is sweetness and light in the face of overwhelming evidence that the opposite is true, and for a while that might make me feel less “unhappy”. But in the end reality has a way of coming to the surface no matter how hard I try to cover it up.

    • March 20, 2013 at 12:13 am

      Ah, but I think that point is that happiness, TRUE happiness, has nothing to do with “reality.”

      It’s more about our perception of said Reality — so yes, the onus is, probably on each of us.

      Alas.


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 178 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 110,361 hits

