05
Mar
13

Customer Service, local banking style

Received a letter from my bank recently, outlining my complimentary enrollment in the bank’s “Overdraft Privilege” program. The key points of this privileged status are outlined as such:

  • Should an overdraft occur, your account will be assessed the standard NSF fee of $32 for handling each item even if paid by the discretionary Overdraft Privilege services.
  • If multiple items are presented against your account on the same day, each item will be assessed the appropriate NSF fee or returned item fee of $32, up to a limit of five (5) fees per day.
  • ___________Bank has the discretion, but is not agreeing and does not have an obligation to pay your overdrafts and we may withdraw or reduce the amount of this privilege at any time.

Umm, thanks?

Guess the “Privilege” part is the part where you agree not to accidentally, manipulate the circumstances so as to charge me more than $160 a day?

They wasted paper and a stamp to tell me this? Seems like they could have just given me the finger and spat on my shoes or something.

Right up there with the bank that charges me an overdraft for not having the money in my checking account to make a house payment that’s already been paid.

I’m beginning to think I’m really in the wrong business.

6 Responses to “Customer Service, local banking style”


  1. March 5, 2013 at 10:56 pm

    Please don’t tell me that the letter included the words “To serve you better . . .”

    • March 7, 2013 at 7:51 am

      I think it might have. They probably think they’re doing me some kind of favor — it is the program for the “privileged” you know. (Isnt’ that special.)

  2. 3 Raven
    March 6, 2013 at 12:00 am

    It’s stuff like that that led me to switch to a big named credit union in my area. They only charge a fee if I don’t have funds in my savings from which to draw, and they don’t let them stack like that. Since I live in Washington state, these types of stacking overdraft fees are allowed, though they’re not permitted in every state. I got charged when I went even a few pennies over without realizing it, or when someone got hold of my credit information and fraudulently charged to my account. No reimbursement given, so I was left with horrible fees over the slightest miscalculations or the charges of thieves. The bank started to send me other letters about ensuing fees — fees they were later never allowed to post — and that was the point at which I left and moved my accounts over to a much better service.

  3. March 6, 2013 at 6:33 pm

    Of course “merchant banker” is also Cockney Rhyming Slang. Just sayin’… 😉
    http://www.cockneyrhymingslang.co.uk/slang/merchant_banker


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 178 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 110,385 hits

