22
Oct
12

wouldn’t it be nice if. . .

Husband and I were just talking about tonight’s upcoming debate as we made our dinner preparations (cornmeal-coated oven-fried chicken tenders; curried sweet potato pancakes with raita).

He’s been reading up on Mitt’s activities during Mitt’s tenure at Bain capital, and on hostile takeovers, buyouts, “reorganizations,” etc. in general. It’s a dirty, cynical, greedy business. Capitalism at it’s most capitalistic.

Tonight’s topic is foreign policy.

My wishes are, basically, two. (I get two wishes, right? Isn’t there a genie in this bottle of bourbon? Drat.)

1. A moderator who actually makes the candidate answer the questions he was asked, and who disallows a candidate talking beyond his allotted time.

2. Candidates who actually tell us something without resorting to campaign-speak. Many argue that the American people don’t know the issues, and respond from a more “intuitive,” reflexive place (somewhere behind their belly button, I think). I argue that if you talk to people like they are children, they think like children, and if you talk to people as if they have a reasonable ability to, well, reason, they will do so.

Call me optimistic, just don’t call me late for dinner.

I’ll be tweeting, if I’m not in the fetal position, moaning.

Didn’t their Mamas teach them it’s not polite to point?

5 Responses to “wouldn’t it be nice if. . .”


  1. October 22, 2012 at 6:59 pm

    Their mamas might have taught them not to point, but I’ll bet their coaches for these debates encouraged them to direct voters’ eyes toward their opponents when mentioning a fault in said opponent.

  2. October 22, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    curried sweet potato pancakes with raita! I’m coming over!!!

    • October 22, 2012 at 8:27 pm

      They weren’t really pancakes; more like curried sweet potato blobs. Very tasty, though! There are a “few” left, but you better hurry. Husband has dibs on them for his lunch tomorrow.

  3. October 23, 2012 at 10:59 am

    campaign speak gets the audience nowhere fast – I am just an observer as I am Cdn. but I think Obama’s first tactic of not rising to the occasion was the right one–it is so classless to point and criticize–I do not understand these tactics–it just confuses the issue and takes away respect


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 181 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 110,032 hits

