22
Oct
12

New Year’s Resolutions, in October

Heard a little bit of discussion on the Diane Rehm show this morning by various pollsters, including how unreliable the answers to the “Do you intend to vote?” question are. One of the pollsters compared it to how committed people are on January 5 or so to carry out their New Year’s Resolution.

Some of you may have figured out, especially if you read the comments/discussions that ensue sometimes, that I broke a bone in my foot around 8 weeks ago. I would like to say it was a result of something heroic and/or exciting, like tripping over the lead runner in the Chicago Marathon, but actually I just stubbed my toe on the foot of my bed, in broad daylight. Now I’m not all that graceful, and am often doing three things at once while thinking about at least two other, completely unrelated, things, so these kinds of pratfalls are not all that unusual. I even laid on the bed, whimpering softly, for about 10 minutes before I limped out to the kitchen to tell Husband what I had done. Not that I wasn’t expecting sympathy, but these occurrences are quite frequent, and I didn’t want to push my luck. When the throbbing was getting worse rather than better, though, I thought maybe a little sympathy, and, oh, maybe an ice pack was in order.

The stupid thing was that two weeks more passed before I had it X-rayed, including a weekend when we were power washing the deck and house and I walked right off the edge of the deck while looking up at the soffit I was washing. (I don’t know how to spell soffit. I think that’s right, but wordpress is giving me grief. Anyway.)(And the deck is only ~ 3 feet off the ground, so it’s not quite as bad as it sounds.) Of course I was barefoot, because my toe hurt too badly to wear shoes, and of course I landed on the broken foot, so I’m sure that didn’t help either. So yes, I broke a bone in my foot. The tip of what I’m calling the 3rd toe bone — I’m sure there’s a more technical term, and I’m also quite sure the doctor employed the technical term at my appointment after my X-ray, but I don’t remember it.

It’s this one:

Which means that my foot hurts more than my toe hurts (although the toe looks like someone else’s, like a little sausage, and doesn’t match the other toes), and it has taken a ridiculously long time to heal. I wore an actual shoe on Saturday for the first time in 6 weeks (we won’t talk about the two weeks I was wearing shoes when I shouldn’t have been. What can I say? I’m an optimist.) I managed to walk ~ a mile with Husband each day over the weekend, and my foot is tight and sore afterwards, but at least I’m off my butt, finally. I did have a yoga Groupon which has now expired, and my plans to restart the couch-potato-to-5K thing has been a bust, but maybe I can start next week. . .

I also have started a new juicing plan. I’m hypothyroid, and, while I take Armour thyroid, it often feels like the only result of thyroid medication is that my blood tests show a normal TSH level; I still feel half asleep most of the time, and am always always cold (my temperature the other morning was 96˚). A side effect of hypothyroidism is slow metabolism (it just keeps getting better and better, doesn’t it?), and I have heard that drinking fruit and vegetable juices as meal replacements a few times a week helps give your digestive system a break and this is supposed to help fire it up, somehow.

So three days a week I’m drinking home-juiced carrot, carrot-apple, carrot-beet, carrot-cucumber-wheatgrass, apple-pineapple-ginger, cherry-pomegranate, etc. juice instead of eating breakfast and lunch. On the days I do so I still have a healthy dinner (although the temptation sometimes is to eat more for dinner than I would otherwise, because, hey, I haven’t eaten all day so I deserve it, right?). I tend to lose ~ .5 of a lb on juicing days and then gain .25-.4 of a lb on non-juicing days, so I’m not really seeing this as an effective diet strategy. Also, on the next mornings, the whites of my eyeballs seem orange. They’re probably not really orange, but they seem orange.

Oh, and I’ve stopped shampooing my hair. =:-O

I have read, on more than one occasion, how bad it is for hair to shampoo it — I mean, think about it! We wash it with this stuff full of chemicals, most of which have been demonstrated to cause cancer in rats (rats with particularly clean hair, but still) and which removes all of the healthy oils and nutrients from our scalp, and then instantly put goop called “conditioner” on it to undo the damage we just caused.

I did “wash” my hair this morning with baking soda paste and then “conditioned” it with some apple cider vinegar. Of course, I thoroughly rinsed the baking soda out first, as I was not 7 and trying to make a “volcano” in my shower. I think I might smell like a pickle, but my hair looks fantastic. (And isn’t the henna-ing still looking nice? I keep thinking maybe I should stop bothering, since I have to re-apply the green mud every month or so to cover my roots, but then I see a picture like this and think, “Fine. I’ll keep doing it.”)

If you haven’t noticed, I’m deliberately avoiding any discussion of the presidential election.

I am also trying really hard to avoid eating the cold sesame noodles in the fridge. Carrot and beet juice just doesn’t have the same zing.

Oh, and speaking of hair this is what we did over the weekend:

Despite my concerns, it seems to have turned out fine, I have earned “hundreds” (I think it should be thousands) of “Mom coolness points,” and she did not get sent home from school.

So there’s that, then.

5 Responses to “New Year’s Resolutions, in October”


  1. October 22, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    you are one heck of an interesting girl — I can totally relate to broken toes, sprained ankles etc as I am kind of a klutz–but not washing your hair with shampoo is a new one–and it makes sense. Hope you will be back to wearing two shoes comfortably soon–and hey, you don’t have to talk election with me–I am Canadian

  2. October 22, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    You certainly have got a few things happening in your life, Sheriji! Although I know a little about feet & bones, and I specialize in self-injury through careless behavior, I know nothing about thyroid dysfunction. Having now read up on it elsewhere, I can see that this will be a pain in the neck [no pun intended!] in terms of the lifelong treatment & monitoring required. I hope your foot makes a complete recovery – it sounds like it’s heading in that direction.

    One of my sons gave up shampoo, for similar reasons to you, I think. He does not, however, have your beautiful hair! He doesn’t smell of apple cider, so maybe he’s not applying the right non-commercial remedy. He has, unfortunately, inherited his father’s hair so he’s at a decided disadvantage in the hair beauty stakes.

    And what a great mother you are! Of course, people like me would give their right arm to have your daughter’s natural hair…that strong dark color. But I guess teenage years are all about developing and displaying a unique identity.

    My other son just can’t get enough of the American election! How weird is that (for an Australian)? On the other hand, we get to choose how much we hear about it, and aren’t bombarded by advertisements and phone calls. He is still young and idealistic, like you 🙂 I remember how much pleasure he felt in seeing Obama’s victory four years ago so I know he’ll be sad if he’s defeated this time, but he’s become much more aware of the foolishness of the average voter (both here and in the US) since then, so I think he’ll be understanding of the political reality.

    • October 22, 2012 at 6:36 pm

      “I specialize in self-injury” — hahahahaha! I’d put that on a bumper sticker, but it probably would make people think I was a “cutter” and proud of it.

      The baking soda/cider solution was pretty amazing. As I was rubbing the soda paste into my head I was thinking how absolutely ridiculous it was and how my hair still felt dirty and it couldn’t possibly work, and then I rinsed it out in about 5 seconds and my hair was perfectly clean. After the cider it still felt a little odd, and I wondered if I was going to be able to comb it, but it was perfectly fine. A very revealing experience, and I’m very happy about how much $ I’m going to save not having to buy all those fancy shampoos and conditioners any more. I will, however, have to find baking soda in the economy-sized boxes.

      As for my daughter and her hair — yeah, it’s absolutely gorgeous. Black and silky and shiny and thick thick thick! And she always says she wants hair like mine, which is fine and just curly enough to be a nuisance. Grass-is-always-greener syndrome. I do like the pink, and it’s hair, so if we get tired of it we cut it off and start over. Easy schmeazy.

      I was happy to have Obama win, too, and will vote for him again (if you couldn’t tell), but I’m not 100% happy with what he has(n’t) done, and I’m very unhappy with political campaigning as a whole. I would rather have my fingernails pulled out than vote for Mitt, though — he’s calculating and selfish and a complete hypocrite, and I certainly don’t trust him to look out for all us poor folk (meaning anyone from upper middle class on down).

      I’m working, mentally, on my next post, and hoping to get it up before tonight’s debate starts, so better get to it.

      Thanks for reading and commenting! I always enjoy the conversation!


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 179 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 109,702 hits

