08
May
12

I just can’t make myself care

I follow this blog because I like the hairstyling tips, but for the most part I just find myself irritated in a I-wish-I-could-just-outgrow-highscool-already sort of way.

And today’s post is headlined by this picture:

and I just can’t figure out why I’m supposed to care.

Am I supposed to be learning something valuable from this?

I try to spend as much time reading other blogs, and various news sources, as I do writing on my own. To turn the view outward, to learn about other people, the world.

But I don’t really think I need to know how many lipsticks someone else carries, or to wonder what that mysterious purple pencil with the clear plastic cap is supposed to be.

Maybe I’m missing something.

3 Responses to “I just can’t make myself care”


  1. May 9, 2012 at 5:29 am

    I dont think you’re missing anything. I wish highschool days were over, but alas, I’m pretty sure only the youthfullness is gone… the maturity level here in adult life is much the same, just… well, sadder. I wish I’d taken this picture of my handbag though, would have made making the police report when it was stolen easier – even know three weeks later I keep remembering things that were in there that I’d totally forgotten about – that is about the only [and i do mean only] use for this photo I can possibly think of…

    • May 9, 2012 at 12:44 pm

      I thought about posting a picture of what’s in my handbag, but nobody needs to see that. Trust me. And knowing that I’m carrying around 17 random bobby pins and empty gum wrappers is just not really going to help anyone all that much I don’t think.

  2. May 10, 2012 at 2:56 am

    Oh, you know, it’s just reality- blogging, like reality TV. Tries to pass itself off as entertainment. It’s mindless, but how about repurposing this photo for meditation? Serenity now. When you think, “What? Irritating!” just breathe and say, “Thinking.” Let the thought go. Pull yourself back into the meaningless colors of the picture. Breathe.


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 178 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 110,789 hits

