03
May
12

“red” alert days

Just discovered that I can view my calendar by the year.

I discovered this because I was entering something into my calendar for MAY OF 2013.

I know, right?

Both depressing and impressive (who knew I was that organized?) at the same time!

In a not-actually-unrelated-although-it-might-seem-so-at-first story, remember the terror alerts? Yellow, orange, red. . . Did anyone actually know what they meant? I think W and his cronies just picked the color based on how low their popularity/effectiveness ratings were that day.

(and still, really, no, but thanks for asking)

High (as if!) approval ratings = pick yellow (notice there was never a blue or a green; we must always stay at some level of alert because fear is the new black).

Low approval ratings = pick red. Then, when nothing happens, everyone can be all impressed by all of those mysterious things we must have done to keep them safe and sound and our approval ratings will go up.

ANYway. (Husband thinks my epitaph should read “She never said no to bacon.” I think mine should read “Tangent? What tangent?” Or maybe that’s the same thing.)

This is what 2012 looks like so far:

Three guesses which is my favorite month.

And still no green or blue. One event = yellow, 10 = red. Maybe we need more gradations to accurately reflect the varying degrees of scheduling insanity which constitute my life.

Anyway. Here’s to June 18. The first “white” day since May 5, which was the first “white” day since March 31.

Sheesh.

5 Responses to ““red” alert days”


  1. 1 Jackie
    May 3, 2012 at 11:50 pm

    Oh my god!! So funny I had to look at my calendar—- and here are my “white days” for this year so far: January 1st, March 31st, and coming up May 28. Is that crazy? Is it just us or does everyone have this nutty of a schedule?

  2. 2 jill
    May 5, 2012 at 1:35 pm

    Happy White Day!

  3. 4 Allison Green
    May 9, 2012 at 11:44 am

    You made me giggle 🙂
    What calendar is this? I would sure like to know when to be terrified.

    • May 9, 2012 at 12:42 pm

      It’s iCal. I’ve decided I’d rather not know. I was honestly shocked when I saw it. Welcome to the Land of Denial, where I am Queen and grand Poo-Bah.


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 182 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Top Posts & Pages

Blog Stats

  • 110,102 hits

