15
Apr
12

fed up?

I’m sick of politics and politicians, I’m sick of women being treated like chattel, I’m sick of feeling like no matter how I spend my time or my day or my life or my money I could have/should have spent it better.

I peruse headlines for something to write about and I just sigh in a combination of resignation and despair.

I’m going to take the dog for a walk, and then we’re going to have tuna steaks and salad for dinner, with an amusing white wine.  Then I’m going to write a list of things my son should do between now and when he graduates from college and moves to Madison, Wisconsin to start his FIRST REAL JOB (yarly! yeah! go First Son!) (get a credit card, buy clothes for work, figure out what furniture/dishes/potsandpans he needs and how many of those things he can get from our basement on his way from Cleveland to Madison, research cars and think about what kind of a car he wants/needs/can afford, etc. etc.) and then I’m going to read my book or knit.

I’m also going to ponder, as I have been for the past two weeks, two really important questions:

Should I quit at least one of my jobs?

Can I afford/justify these boots?

These two questions are, in case you didn’t notice, directly related.

And the boots are $515, ifthatmakesanydifference.

I’m thinking no, no matter what the answer to the first question is.

And I can’t wait for my glow-in-the-dark paint to come so I can make these jars:

That’s all.

 

5 Responses to “fed up?”


    • April 16, 2012 at 8:10 am

      Yes, they do. 🙂

      Did you notice they were $515? How long would I have to live to make that worth it? 15 years? 20?

      • April 16, 2012 at 8:24 am

        But in 20 years you’ll have had 20 years of pleasure from your boots, and the money will just belong, with most past expenses, to the vacuum of forgettable things.

        • April 16, 2012 at 9:24 pm

          Yeah. You’re probably right.
          Maybe it’s more of a “but do I deserve such an extravagant thing” kind of a question? Or “do I have a right to buy something so extravagant (that is, unnecessary) while contemplating quitting ~ 50% of my work?”
          iwantthemiwantthemiwantthemiwantthem
          but I just can’t buy them.

          Is this healthy? or a sign of something wrong with me?

  1. April 17, 2012 at 4:31 am

    Nothing wrong with you. I never have and probably never will have the money to buy $500 boots. I still think everyone deserves a pair of $500 boots.


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 178 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 110,247 hits

