24
Feb
12

the (not living at all up to the hype) blizzard of 2012

I love the particular quiet
of a deeply snowy day
and that the swirl you met
at the top of the driveway
kept you home today

so that when I awoke you
were just returning to bed
and we lounged there until
almost 10, you snoring
occasionally
while I read my book
(you know, the one I like
but wish I could have edited)
and Hannah came to the
door occasionally to see
if we were going to ever
get up.

We made apple cinnamon crepes
and bacon and drank cups and
cups of cappuccino
and then went back to bed
knees to knees, forehead to forehead
and slept some more
until I snuck out in my thick socks
and drove to get the oil changed
in my car.

I only slid a little at the bottom
of the driveway, and then navigated
down slushed roads as trees dropped
snowballs on me in their passive-agressive
way and the dog in the Kia waved
its tail at me as I passed.

I sit, now, in the “quiet” room,
waiting for new oil and something
called a PCV valve
and ponder the important questions:
whether I can take another nap when I get home,
what I should do with the next twenty
years of my professional life,
what to make for dinner.

2 Responses to “the (not living at all up to the hype) blizzard of 2012”


  1. February 24, 2012 at 1:55 pm

    This is absolutely lovely, thank you!

  2. February 24, 2012 at 9:26 pm

    Brilliant! I love the feeling that you have so cleverly created here…the atmosphere is so real I feel like I’m part of the event.


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 181 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 110,020 hits

