14
Feb
12

heard at dinner

Only Daughter: “If I weren’t lucky enough to have you as a mom” (see, already a diplomat, and she’s only 11!), “I would like Kristi” (the mom of two of my piano students), “or Mrs. B_____” (the mom of a friend of hers), “to be my mom.

Long silence.

Me: “Yeah, they’re probably a bit more cheerful than I am.

OD: “Ya’ think?

Long, awkward, silence.

Me: “There are more important things than cheerful.

Aren’t there?

2 Responses to “heard at dinner”


  1. February 16, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    What a fascinating “conversation”!
    IMHO, there are many, many things more important than “cheerful” . . . but I’m probably saying that as the least cheerful person in my household, or perhaps in my street, or even in my suburb.


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 181 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Top Posts & Pages

Blog Stats

  • 110,008 hits

