13
Feb
12

Is this ironic?

Lost my driver’s license over the weekend.

Decided that in between 4 hours of teaching and rehearsing this morning and 3.5 hours of teaching this afternoon I would try to replace it online.

Went to the Secretary of State’s website, found this:

Oh, happy day! As I am a U.S. citizen, have a valid Social Security number, and my license has not expired or been cancelled, and is not “enhanced” (whateverthatmeans), so this should be no problem. Maybe I won’t have to try to squeeze in a trip to the DMV in a week during which I am working something like 60 hours.

So I click on the “ExpressSOS” link, and get this:

Do you suppose they’re being ironic?

They don’t actually expect that I’ve written this number down somewhere, do they?

 

5 Responses to “Is this ironic?”


  1. 1 Jackie
    February 14, 2012 at 1:25 am

    Mark has his driver’s license number memorized. I do not. So maybe other people know their numbers as well.

  2. 3 treacle
    February 14, 2012 at 7:34 am

    If it makes you feel any better the DVLA system in the UK is no better. In fact, THEY lost my paper licence when I sent it in to be replaced with a digital one, as per the law and then insisted that I don’t exist on any system anywhere… but you don’t wanna hear about that ;o)

  3. 4 Jo
    February 14, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    I like to think it’s indicative that somewhere, somehow, the bureaucratic red tapers have a sense of humour. (or not)


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 178 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 110,247 hits

