08
Dec
11

older, yes, but wiser?

I turn 47 tomorrow.

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m none too excited about this. None of my previous birthdays have really bothered me — no problem turning 30, or 40, or even 45 for that matter, and I find myself in a happier place personally than I’ve been for any of those landmarks, so what’supwiththat?

As I’ve also mentioned before, 47 seems a lot closer to 50 than 46 did, so I don’t think that’s helping.

Why does this matter?

We’re all getting older, and it certainly beats the alternative, but are we all, no matter how sensible or philosophical, susceptible to the clichés of marking our progress professionally, personally, at the decade increments? What’s the difference really between turning 47 and turning 50? Maybe I should just continue as I have been, and get all the angst out of the way now — if I really don’t like turning 47, and admit that freely to myself, will that make it that much easier when I actually turn 50? Is that even it?

I know I imagined myself at 47 in a different place professionally than I find myself now, but that was true for 46, and 45, and 40, so so what?

I’m discouraged sometimes by life: my children sometimes seem to lack the characteristics of discipline, nobility, responsibility, thoughtfulness, which I had hoped to instill in them, (but they’re relatively young yet, so maybe it’s not hopeless); the professional world seems to be filled with people riddled by insecurity or pettiness or hubris; politics grind on as usual while many seem unable or unwilling to see the big picture and actual societal progress continues to be thwarted by selfish self-interest, religious narrow-mindedness, and/or apathy; students don’t really seem to care, even a fraction, as much as I do, or as much as I think they should. But do any of these things have anything to do with how I feel about how old I am?

It does seem to me that every single day is too short. So many things to do — delicious meals to cook and great wines to savor and books to read and projects to knit and friends to talk to and puppies to train and random crap to rant about on my blog and poems to write and movies to watch on the couch with my wonderful husband — and there never seems to be enough time to do them all. I guess I wouldn’t have it any other way: a full life is a life well-lived; but I want to pay attention to all of it while at the same time wishing I had time to take a nap.

And so it flies by.

Happy Birthday to me. 🙂

3 Responses to “older, yes, but wiser?”


  1. 1 treacle
    December 9, 2011 at 2:42 pm

    Happy Birthday for tomorrow 🙂

  2. December 10, 2011 at 2:05 am

    Hey Sheriji! Happy birthday from me too 🙂

    Being somewhat older than you, I have similar feelings, but more pronounced….when you get to my age you might feel a strong sense of not only lack of achieving life goals, but an overwhelming feeling that there is now no chance of achieving anything significant…and that you’re now just filling in time until the (probably bitter) end.

    But you’re still a long way off that day!!

  3. 3 Margy Rydzynski
    December 12, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    Older, wiser, all that fun stuff. I passed 47 some time ago and actually believe that it gets better with age, not worse. Of course, that’s not including the aches and pains, but I earned those!


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 179 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 109,693 hits

