26
Nov
11

almost a whole day. . .

Had taken a vow of electronic silence, but a couple things have come up today that I just can’t resist posting about.

First: Truth In Labeling

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Good to know.

This made me curious, so I looked a little further:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sheesh. Are we really this stupid?

**********

In an “are we really this stupid”-related story, I ran across this article in last Sunday’s New York Times, about a woman and what she wore day by day as she went through her week. Apparently she’s quite wealthy, and philanthropic, and stylish, so, as my husband posits, we’re supposed to care.

Is this, really, “All the News That’s Fit to Print”? Or maybe, just a little more.

***********

We decided that this was a good day to take Dexter for a walk. He does pretty well with his leash when we take him out to go “potty,” and we took him for a short walk yesterday, and after a little resistance he had trotted along quite happily. Not so today. By the time we realized that he really was quite overwhelmed and was not going to take a step of his own free will he had damaged the bottom of 3 of his 4 little paws, and is limping around all gingerly and pathetic. I feel absolutely terrible, but I’m also a little irritated, because his feet seem to feel fine enough when he wants to sniff the wheelbarrow, chew branches, and chase his purple monkey around the kitchen, but are apparently too sore for him to bear the leaves and stones when we take him out to pee. Does it say something about me that I’m always quite convinced that I’m being manipulated by a 10-week old puppy who looks like a cross between an Ewok and a baby polar bear? (Cynical, party of one.)

Anyway, the guilt is almost more than I can bear. I’m a terrible person.

But I still don’t care what Muffie wore, or to wear she wore it.

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “almost a whole day. . .”


  1. November 26, 2011 at 11:57 pm

    Please tell me the NY Times article was tongue-in-cheek. I mean first of all, a grown up woman named Muffie? Plus, who would really admit a Birkin bag holds their world together?

    • November 27, 2011 at 9:28 am

      I fear it was not, although it could have appeared in The Onion verbatim and been somewhat amusing. I fear they were in earnest. And you got further into the article then I did before my gag reflex took over.


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 178 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 110,247 hits

