30
Oct
11

this week from the road, seen from Saturday

the starlings swarmed and swooshed
around their favorite overpass

and the fog drifted in waves across the road
like from a machine on a dark and windy stage,
while leaves flung themselves from branches
and danced around the car

I drove you to the airport Thursday
morning and sometime around this afternoon
tired of the company of my own silence

on my way to dinner with a friend
the moon slipped through a snip in the fabric of the
pale-blue metal of the sky,
the sun having laid its ribbon of pink
along the horizon
and that big oak on the right side
of the road shone with its black shadow light
as a single handful of rain slapped against
my windshield

I used to long to be alone
and now you are always here
glowing like a coal at the center of me

when I put my steak into the pan last night
on its bed of salt and pepper
the flame caught a drip of fat or
a grain of salt, and
seared a thread of my sweater,
I noticed it from the corner of my mind
and then it was gone;

is the edge always, just, right there?

come home

3 Responses to “this week from the road, seen from Saturday”


  1. October 30, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    ahhh…I love your poetry, despite not being a big fan of poetry in general. I think one of the reasons is that I can often personally relate to the images and experiences you describe.
    This line particularly caught my mind’s eye:
    and the fog drifted in waves across the road
    like from a machine on a dark and windy stage,

    because only yesterday morning I had just such a fog experience myself while out on a pre-dawn walk. But it’s not just that we share similar experiences, it’s that you can capture those experiences with words in a way that brings my past experiences instantly back to life, but somehow with a new insight.
    Thanks Sheriji

    • November 3, 2011 at 10:10 am

      Thank YOU. I’m so glad that my poetry speaks to you in such a way. I try, but often feel the references might be too specific to be universal. Thanks for reading and commenting! I’m always glad to see you here. 🙂

      • November 3, 2011 at 7:41 pm

        And furthermore, I need to thank you again for giving me advice on how to appreciate poetry. I listened to someone reading poetry this morning and my first response was to want to go over the parts I didn’t understand and look more closely at the words and to analyze in detail. However, taking your advice, I decided to ignore bits I didn’t understand and to not focus on why certain words were used, but to “feel” more the images that were created, to not worry about how the words worked….allow my emotional rather than intellectual response to dominate. And it worked!


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 178 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 110,230 hits

