14
Oct
11

do I even want to know. . .?

“Representative Michele Bachmann’s law education sought to combine traditional teaching with charismatic Christian belief.

. . .where she got this “law” degree from?

Ummm, no.

Sheesh.

Crap. Curiosity got the better of me, and I’ve now discovered that her study of law was pursued at the venerable institution of, you probably guessed it, Oral Roberts University.

Our Father, Who Art in Heaven, Deliver us from Michele Bachman

Here’s a quote from the school’s dean at the time of her matriculation:

The aim. . .was to train the next generation of legal minds to “integrate their Christian faith into their chosen profession,” and to “restore law to its historic roots in the Bible.”

Hmmm. Is it just me, or does that sound an awful lot like the goals of Islam.

Apparently, at a forum last month in South Carolina, she criticized President Obama’s policies on health care, immigration and education as unconstitutional, saying the 2012 election would turn on how candidates interpret “’that sacred document.’”

The constitution? “Sacred”?

So much for the separation of church and state.

Even if I think I know what I think she thinks she means, the use of the word in this context makes me cringe. Oh, let’s face it, she just makes me cringe. Maybe it’s just me, but I’d like ANY candidates for presidency who are supported by more than 5 people in this country not to be stark-raving idiots.

We can all be comforted by the fact that the school ran out of money and closed in 1986.

At least there’s that, then.

Finally:  “Oral Roberts University was chartered in 1963 as an educational home for charismatic Christians, and placed a particular emphasis on the Spirit-given ability to speak in tongues.”

Oh! That’s what she’s doing!!! Why didn’t somebody tell me? At least that makes sense.

0 Responses to “do I even want to know. . .?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 178 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 111,003 hits

