23
Sep
11

is this true?

An excerpt from an email I just received from “People For the American Way”

At last night’s Fox News debate, the crowd actually booed a gay soldier who asked a question about Don’t Ask Don’t Tell! At the first debate, mention of Rick Perry’s record-setting number of state executions as governor drew huge applause. And the crowd at the first official Tea Party debate cheered just as raucously for the suggestion that the way to deal with a sick person without health insurance is to “let him die.” Of course, in all these instances, the candidates said nothing to dissuade the crowd.

Is THIS the American Way?

Sheesh.

I’ve decided to add any of my can’t-we-do-better-than-this-politically rants to the Palinschmerz category. It all seems to be basically one and the same. Is there not a single intelligent, discerning Republican candidate who doesn’t feel the need to pander to the lowest common über-religious/closeminded branch of the American people? And why are there so many of these people in this group anyway? Do I dare open the door by asking if I’m missing something?

5 Responses to “is this true?”


  1. September 23, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    To a person who lives outside the US this doesn’t sound that much different than news stories about stoning people in the Middle East. Small minded fundamentalist intolerance is the same regardless of what ideological name you put on it.

      • September 25, 2011 at 12:23 am

        I’m not so sure this is “Small minded fundamentalist intolerance”. We have a similar problem here in Australia, with the main targets being people coming to Australia seeking refugee status. Both major parties are falling over themselves to been seen as tough on people claiming refugee status. There’s no religiosity involved, but I think it’s the same spirit underlying the Tea Party approach. I would label it as “selfish” if I had to put a single word to the phenomenon. There’s a fundamental disbelief in doing anything in the name of community benefit. It’s all about what entrenches my position and benefits me individually, and who cares about anyone else. The approach seeks to lump all sorts of people into categories that can be instantly dismissed as ‘I don’t need to care about them’ – refugees, unemployed, sick, non-christian, etc. The more people that can be dismissed in this way, the better off I will be.

        What do you think, Sheriji?

      • September 25, 2011 at 2:49 am

        I agree with you. I used the term fundamentalist not in a religious sense but in a “my way or the highway” oversimplified world view sense.

  2. September 25, 2011 at 11:59 am

    I agree with you both, and was thinking of “small minded fundamentalist intolerance” in all senses of the term; as Thomas said, not in a religious sense, but in a you’re not in my family/clan/class/church/neighborhood, or this isn’t my direct problem, so why should I worry about you sort of way? (Like when they report on a plane crash and list how many Americans were killed; I guess we don’t have to feel badly about those people from other countries.) So many of these people don’t seem to see that these attitudes hurt everyone, also often themselves, because they can’t see past their own reflexive, not-all-that-well-thought-out opinions.

    Maybe this fundamental selfishness serves some evolutionary purpose, but I think it’s usually too localized — if we could all see that what’s good for everyone is most likely good for me and those I love, the world could be a much better place.


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 181 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 110,020 hits

