08
Sep
11

call me perpetually perplexed, just don’t call me late for dinner

#Can someone explain Twitter to me?

That’s all.

Just curious.

It seems to be something a lot of people do, and I just don’t get it.

 

4 Responses to “call me perpetually perplexed, just don’t call me late for dinner”


  1. September 8, 2011 at 11:39 pm

    I’m subscribing to the comments on this post in the hope someone gives an answer. I don’t get it either.

  2. 2 Raven
    September 9, 2011 at 1:40 am

    I asked the same question when people kept insisting I join. I asked that question before when I was cajoled into using Facebook.

    Twitter. Hm. Here’s what my field reports have gathered thus far:

    It’s a site dedicated to being social, but involves primarily the shallowest thoughts, comments, and activities of individuals to be shared in bite-sized portions for the readers who find such things interesting. The text limit strips everything down to its barest essentials which is good for those who are verbose and wish to learn brevity, but bad for those who post frequent, inane messages about anything that comes to mind or happens to them.

    Though I’ve tried to use the site, the people I “follow” all have opinions about vastly different subjects, and when I try to read the assembled thoughts of so many people, it comes across with the same mental clarity as standing in a crowded room at a party where everyone is clamoring for everyone else’s attention. Any attempts to focus on a single individual and their thoughts becomes scattered amongst the noise of the rest.

    For the most part, Twitter seems best suited for a few things (keeping in touch and being polite are not included in this list): showing off how witty you are (which is great for everyone if you’re Neil Gaiman, Keith Olbermann, or Amanda Palmer), showing off how cool your daily life is, sharing links that you believe should “go viral” (e.g. videos, political messages, LOLCat photos, et al), and promoting your business endeavors or that of your company.

    However, with so many people sharing a constant stream of–mostly mundane–thoughts, ideas, links, and promotional tools, it’s difficult to manage unless you’re discerning in the people whom you choose to read.

    Facebook, slightly less restrictive in its text and ability to connect to people, can allow for more depth, and though it’s still a rather shallow medium for staying in touch with friends and family, I can handle reading the links, but I still prefer blog styles of the three.

    I continue to maintain a Twitter, but rarely read anything. My blog, Facebook, and articles all post automatically to my stream so I don’t need to visit the site or engage the cacophony that awaits.

    I’m starting to understand Twitter and how it’s used, but I remain clueless as to how anyone can stand to use it on a daily basis.

  3. September 16, 2011 at 8:11 am

    ‘k, well, I agree with Raven, but I’ve decided to try it. My first experience was 140 CHARACTERS? WHAT? Are they kidding me? But I have a plan: I’m going to use it for my sound-byte type ideas, and then see if they percolate into longer posts. I’m at sheriji1 — I think Thomas above may have found me already, and at this point has the distinction of being MY ONLY FOLLOWER. And not in a creepy way.


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 182 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Top Posts & Pages

Blog Stats

  • 110,123 hits

