15
Jul
11

heard in the car, today; a synopsis

Daughter: “Can I go live with Dad? He has a dog.”

Me: “No.”

Daughter: “Can I go to horse camp? It only costs $500.”

Me. “No.”

Daughter: “Can you quit your job and become a doctor? They make more money than you do and then you could afford horse camp.”

Me. “No.”

Daughter: “Can I have a frog? He can live with my fish.”

Me. “No.”

Sigh.

4 Responses to “heard in the car, today; a synopsis”


  1. 1 Raven
    July 15, 2011 at 12:35 am

    Gee, that sounds rather familiar . . . trying to think of where I’ve heard similar conversations. *coughs* My daughter denies everything; she’ll make an excellent president some day.

    • July 15, 2011 at 6:31 pm

      I get those denials even now. Plus I “embarrassed” her at dinner last night when she had a friend over, but none of us can remember what I did/said (my theory is, is you can’t remember it, it couldn’t have been that bad). As if going through high school trying to be who everybody else thinks you should be wasn’t bad enough, do I have to do it again in my 40s?

  2. July 15, 2011 at 9:50 am

    Wow. I remember those days. Mine is 25 now…I’d give anything to go back. Well…maybe not, now that I recall the green hair and teen years. Let her have the frog. 🙂

    • July 15, 2011 at 6:31 pm

      But she already has a cat, a snake, and a fish! I have already broken one of the cardinal rules of parenthood: never have more pets than you have children living at home.


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 178 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 110,361 hits

