06
Jul
11

grammar wars: it’s hopeless?

Browsing around online, looking for an agent to talk to regarding a children’s book series I’ve worked on on and off for a few years.

Found one that looked promising, (well, it wasn’t a FedEx Kinko’s copy center or their equivalent,) so clicked on the link to their website.

Here is a direct quote of the testimonial that headlines their website:

I recently contacted D_________ Publishing Company to publish my material entitled “The Memoirs of an Old Country Bishop” and I found them to be very professional and courteous.   The options that they gave me was fair and affordable. Their access to the public through technology is overwhelming.  I highly recommend them to new authors looking to publish their material.

Apparently their services don’t include editing.

Sigh.


4 Responses to “grammar wars: it’s hopeless?”


  1. 1 Raven
    July 6, 2011 at 11:48 pm

    Ouch. Of course, it’s worse when it’s a big publication whether in the form of a major news outlet (e.g. Time) or a well-known author (e.g. Tad Williams).

  2. July 8, 2011 at 3:08 am

    I know what you’re saying, but at the same time, I’m wondering if you can really call this kind of thing a grammar war. Wars requires two sides that want to fight. I think it’s safe to say that no one fights on behalf of bad grammar.

  3. October 18, 2011 at 6:36 am

    I actually put that quote into Google to find this blog post. I didn’t notice the non-standard grammar when I initially looked at it; I just wanted to see how well those self-published books were selling. Thanks for the read.


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 182 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Top Posts & Pages

Blog Stats

  • 110,123 hits

