05
May
11

Graduation Open House, a.k.a. subtle extortion

I received, in the mail today, an invitation to an Open House for a very-distant friend of my son’s — meaning he knows her name, and that they were in a play together — whom I’ve never met. Nor have I met her parents.

Why don’t they just send a self-addressed, stamped envelope in it with one of those little forms where I x off the amount of my donation?

Am I doing a disservice to Second Son that I’m limiting the guest list to his Open House to people we actually know? I guess we could treat it like the people at Direct TV, or at any of the myriad credit card companies, that is, as a fishing expedition. With that approach we might find enough people with nothing else to do on a Saturday afternoon but come and eat beanie weanies for the price of a $20 bill tucked into a congratulations card to help fund the furnishings of his dorm and the requisite laptop.

Sheesh.

2 Responses to “Graduation Open House, a.k.a. subtle extortion”


  1. 1 Sam
    May 5, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    Oh please, people like to have a big party, so they invite as many people as they can. Remember my open house? I invited only my friends and like 4 people came and it was really disappointing for the first couple hours when there was no one. It’s a proven fact that the more people there are at a party, the more fun it is.

  2. May 6, 2011 at 2:41 am

    The more the merrier? Maybe that’s her philosophy. And Sam is right, you have to invite 2-3 times more people than you want to come because only 1/4 to 1/3 will show up.


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 182 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Top Posts & Pages

Blog Stats

  • 110,128 hits

