17
Apr
11

tax day

My husband is the “Taxpayer.”
I am the “Spouse.”
Does this mean I don’t have to pay taxes?
Or are we waiting for women to be paid the same amount for the same work, and then both categories will be “Taxpayer”?
Maybe I’m overthinking it.

Oh, and it took 40 minutes and two consultations of the directions online to fill out the 1040 “EZ” for my 17-year-old. I made 3 mistakes that I had to white out, and I’m a reasonably intelligent person. It shouldn’t be that difficult to fill out a form for someone who made $3,600 last year and can’t itemize lunches at Noodles & Co. or purchases from Game Stop.

Can any tax reform enacted include a rule that one shouldn’t need to hire a CPA and pay $20/form to complete even the simplest tax forms? Does anybody really know what terms such as “Amortization” or “Domestic Production Activities Deduction” actually mean?

Do I earn any karma points for being perfectly willing to pay my fair share even if GE doesn’t? And what about my paying my taxes for potholed roads and closing police departments and schools that “my” governor can take over with one of his non-elected Emergency Financial Managers? Guess this crosses over into questions about whether democracy is alive and well in the good ol’ U. S. of A., and maybe that’s a topic for another day.

Gotta go write that check and send it off to Uncle Sam. Or should I have my husband write it, since I’m just the Spouse?

1 Response to “tax day”


  1. April 18, 2011 at 5:55 am

    I’m happy to be the “Spouse” when it comes to taxes, but I know what you mean. If you’re paying joint taxes you’re both taxpayers, but I suppose it’s easier to have two very distinct names just in case someone might get confused — not unusual when it comes to filling out tax forms!

    I had to fill in a 1040EZ form a few years ago and didn’t find it all that complicated, and I’m totally math impaired! I did mine online, though. Maybe that made it easier, because it calculates as you go, and if you answer (for example) #12 one way, then it asks questions about the next thing and sort of guides you along. Anyway, I’m happy my husband, the math man, does our taxes now. What a relief! I’ll even take being called “Spouse” for the privilege of not having to do them any more!


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 178 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 110,385 hits

