09
Apr
11

today’s jog

Went running today, only the second time

outside since the new year,

leaving behind the teenager muttering to his rake

and the laundry tumbling through its cycles.

 

As I ran I cursed the two weeks of busy-ness

while my running shoes sat forlorn, laces tied,

waiting patiently on the treadmill,

and I also cursed the hill at the beginning of Briarcliflf,

and my inflexible hip flexors.

 

I turned around at the one-and-a-half mile mark,

after noticing the recalcitrant snow banks at ends

of driveways and that stone house I always tell you

I like, you know — the one with the pillars, and the

beautiful landscaping.

I walked while my heat and my breath

caught up to me, and nodded to the crocii and

spindly leaves of daffodil waving bleakly as I passed.

 

The cars outpaced me, as did the bicyclist in his

black and fuschia Lycra, and the young hipsters

with their trench coats and fedoras, and one old

man on a vintage bike with bell and basket,

and the tall blond girl with the racing number and her

long swinging pony tail.

 

But I outpaced the swooping camel-back bridge and

the dead ornamental grasses which whispered in my ear

as I passed, and even the dead leaves which blew

on ahead of me and then snagged on pebbles or cracks

or cramps in their sides or calves.

 

I also outpaced the worries I had shed behind me like a vapor trail,

although they waited for me, lining the walk where I’d left

them, waving their arms and clamoring on my return;

I couldn’t hear them for the sound of the wind still

in my ears, and that of the waves of the river that

lapped against the pilings and rocks along the road.

5 Responses to “today’s jog”


  1. 1 Kyle
    April 9, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    refreshing, wish i could write like you

  2. April 9, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    This is the great poem, although the post I mistakenly added the comment to is also good reading. But this is a great poem! Wonderfully stated.

  3. April 11, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    amazing imagery…

    lovely word flow.

    invite you to join Jingle poetry potluck today, free and fun…

    first time participant is welcome to share 1 to 3 old poems, or poems unrelated to our theme,
    hope to see you in.

    xx

  4. 4 Margy Rydzynski
    April 11, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    Beautiful. I’m going to share it with some other folks who will like it as well!

  5. April 11, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    You made running sound beautiful.


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 182 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Top Posts & Pages

Blog Stats

  • 110,128 hits

