27
Mar
11

and the winner is:

Got this random catalog in the mail yesterday, and was flipping through when I encountered a 2-page spread displaying these treasures:

Having a hard time deciding which are the most hideous, so have decided to open it up to a vote. Click on individual pictures if you want to get a closer look, but if you have a weak stomach, I suggest shielding your eyes.

Extra credit to who among you can identify the pair fitting my husband’s description: “Achilles was wearing those when he killed Hector.”

10 Responses to “and the winner is:”


  1. March 27, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    I’d actuall wear the top right!

  2. March 27, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    Most hideous – first pair. Achilles’ shoes – last pair.

  3. March 27, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    I agree wholeheartedly with your assessment. I believe your husband may have been referring to ugly shoes #4. I think with the right pair of pants, ugly shoes #3 are not entirely bad. Not being a floral lover in shoes, and although I like the shape, ugly shoes #5 are not wearable, either, imo.

    However, I reserve my deepest contempt for ugly shoes #2 and #1. UGH-LEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE. While I find ugly shoes #2 overall the “most ugly”, I feel that on the foot, ugly shoes #1 might edge out #2 for pretension, preposterousness, and just plain “what were they thinking?”, because apart from being ugly, they would be very difficult to walk in.

  4. March 27, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    ooooooooooo shoes have become so stupid lately. Thank goodness I am not the only one with this attitude. I have to say I don’t like the floral ones either but they are the most normal. No wait that would be the top right. hmmmm achilles has to have been wearing top left. I wouldn’t mind the ones under those if the toes weren’t open. At this point I would be happy to find a decent pair of sneakers and sandels.

  5. 6 Raven
    March 27, 2011 at 11:27 pm

    I actually like the “Achilles” shoes, but I’ve always liked Grecian-inspired sandals. And for someone with mobility issues (me), being able to just zip them up in the back seems a lot easier than trying to lace up true Grecian sandals.

    I agree with the rest, though. The mesh wedge, floral open-toe flat, and … is that wood-paneling on masculine shoes for women in the upper right?

    • March 28, 2011 at 6:26 pm

      On the masculine shoe that is probably woven leather for the open work. It’s not a terrible shoe with pants, really. For a “men’s look” type of outfit they would be fine.

  6. March 27, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    I used to want to find a pair of old boots and cut them into sandals a la the top right, which should say a lot about how utterly hideous and idiotic they are. 🙂

    But my wife, the shoe aficionado, has declared the bottom right to be the fugliest, and I bow to her wisdom, so that’s my vote.

  7. March 27, 2011 at 11:50 pm

    Oh, and I liked the men’s shoes until I realized that was mesh on the sides. My wife calls them the Kevin Costner Special.


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 178 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 110,789 hits

