17
Mar
11

life’s persistent questions

Should the Western world stand by while Quaddafi annihilates his people?

Can a system of government concerned principally with advancing capitalist principles truly function as a democracy?

Do I really think I’m making a difference by clicking on every MoveOn petition that I agree with?

Am I pathetic that I have time to click on a petition, but not to call my senator?

Should we use nuclear power?

If we’re going to use nuclear power, should we, oh, I don’t know, maybe go so far as to have a method for disposing of the waste and of averting nuclear disaster?

If we’re going to build nuclear plants should they maybe not be built near a major fault line?

Should we buy goods because they’re “cheap” even if the cost of those goods to the environment — both in terms of their production and their disposal when they stop working in record time — has not been included in that calculation?

Should we buy goods from countries which don’t protect their worker’s civil rights?

Should we drive cars fueled by gas drilled for and/or refined in countries where women are treated as property rather than people?

Do we realize that 40% of the food that’s produced is thrown away?

Should we try to do something about that? (I’m NOT eating that I-think-it-used-to-be-a-cucumber I found in the bottom of the crisper, btw, but maybe I should be more careful about if I really wanted/needed to buy that cucumber in the first place?)

Should we pay for our children’s college education (“free ride”) or should we have them pay for it themselves (“responsibility,” “accountability”), even if it means they’ll be in debt for the first 20 years of their “adult” lives?

Should we spend some of our free time writing a blog that 100 people read a day, or should we play a game with our 10-year old instead?

Why is it that the older I get the more questions, and fewer answers, there seem to be?

4 Responses to “life’s persistent questions”


  1. March 17, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    I don’t have any good answers to those questions. I do have answers to many of them, in that I behave in certain ways myself, but I’m not at all confident that I could defend my actions if you challenged me.

    I think they’re good questions though.

  2. March 17, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    The older you get the more questions there are and the fewer answers there are. I really thought it was going to be the other way around. 😦

    • March 17, 2011 at 10:31 pm

      When First Son was younger, I don’t remember — middle school probably — he asked me how one knew when one was an adult. I told him it was when you figured out that you didn’t really know that much about anything. He thought that sounded kind of backwards. I didn’t disagree. I had no idea.

  3. March 18, 2011 at 1:32 am

    Ow. Yow. Ow ow ow! YOW! Serious questions. So many of them in one post. I felt inadequate after reading them all.

    I really try to do my best, try to help people/animals. Don’t do ALL that I could and there are constantly new questions/issues being raised, so I am not on top of them all. Feel like I’m scrambling sometimes to get all the info, understand all the issues that seem important.

    I, too, click on petitions. It feels like something small, but at least some issues are being brought to the attention of my Congressperson. At least I’m saying, “This is what I want you to do,” instead of remaining silent. One thing I know is we certainly won’t make a difference by doing nothing.

    Nuclear power. Does anyone know, 100%, the answer to whether we should be using it or not? Anyone? 100%? I don’t know. Wish I did. Or I wish someone I trusted could tell me.

    Your questions all have merit and in a big chunk like this I found them to be depressing. Like I could stop doing anything because nothing really makes a difference, and maybe the little bit I try to do doesn’t matter.

    On the other hand, as I’ve gotten older I feel more and more that I must do what I am moved to do — because if I don’t, I feel terrible that I didn’t do it, it nags at me. I do feel that if we all did a little bit more than we think we’re comfortable doing, in terms of helping someone/something in need, maybe the world would start to change for the better.

    As to knowing less as you get older, it’s ironic, isn’t it? If I had the confidence I had when I was young . . . because I sure thought I knew a lot about everything in my teens and 20’s. Then a glimmer of “maybe I don’t know as much as I thought” reared its head, and now I realize I don’t know sh*t about shinola. By the time I’m 80 I’m thinking I’ll be darned happy in my total ignorance!

    If 100 people read your blog, good for you! I might have 2-3! You must be writing something of interest if that many people are interested in what you have to say!


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 182 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Top Posts & Pages

Blog Stats

  • 110,128 hits

