20
Jan
11

fund raising? or extortion?

Got this message from my daughter’s elementary-school “Webzine” today:

Friday, January 21 is $1 Crazy Hair Day at T____________!

Our Media Center needs some good old fashioned TLC and kids love “Fun Friday’s” at T_________.  Break out the gel, hair spray, wigs, wires and any other creative ideas to make some wacky hair-do’s.  We ask that each student donate $1 to participate and all collected funds will go into the Media Center Make-over bank to help purchase new decorations for the most-used room at T__________ – the Media Center!

Are they actually saying that I can’t send my daughter to school tomorrow with “Crazy Hair” unless she pays a dollar?

Seriously?

How poor ARE our schools, anyway? And do we even NEED new decorations for the Media Center? Can’t we just have books?

This is the 2nd year this has happened. Last year I actually wrote to the publicity person and asked the same question. Then I sent my daughter looking like this:

and didn’t pay the dollar.

I’d give them $5 happily if I weren’t being extorted for it.

Sheesh.

7 Responses to “fund raising? or extortion?”


  1. January 20, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    I agree that it’s better to simply ask for donations if that’s what they want. But the problem is that people don’t give! I guess the idea here is that the kids help to coerce the parents to donate, which I would object to on the grounds that it’s inappropriate manipulation.

    But on the other hand, many schools where I live are so desperate for money that almost any fund-raising strategy can be justified as being the lesser of two evils.

  2. January 20, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    I love her hair! I have to agree with ‘oldblack’ that they’re using the kids as a fulcrum, and that otherwise people probably don’t respond. And yes, from what I read, schools are pretty desperate these days for funds. Why don’t you give them $1 this year with a note saying they would have given $5 if they’d asked for it in a straightforward manner? Perhaps they need to diversify their begging methods and use both to get money from the people who hate manipulation, and also from the ones who need it in order to be guilted into giving!

  3. January 20, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    “they would have GOTTEN $5”, not “given”! oops!

  4. January 20, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    How about when they send the child home with a list of things (school supplies) to buy in order to pass out to the little Mexican kids who show up empty handed. Do it every year here in Oklahoma, and yes, participation is mandatory.

    Costs a lot more than a buck too.

    DS

    • January 22, 2011 at 11:37 am

      I don’t mind buying my child school supplies, even if some of them are going to be shared with the less-advantaged. I do mind buying wet wipes (of a particular type that I can never find), tissues, and ziploc bags.

  5. 6 Boston Margy
    January 21, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    Maybe the school thinks it will be more fun that way? Love the kid’s hair, by the way!

  6. January 22, 2011 at 4:18 am

    What a gorgeous kid!!! My teenager’s school never stops asking for money, never. I just wish I had some.


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 182 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Top Posts & Pages

Blog Stats

  • 110,128 hits

