15
Jan
11

“Palinschmerz”

A blogger I follow has coined the term, and defines it as “the pain and weariness caused by the reality of Palin’s existence.”

I like this term so much I have decided to change the category I had previously labeled “Sarah Palin” to Palinschmerz.

I believe it is suitable for this term to encompass the pain and weariness caused by the fact that so many Americans can actually listen to her, watch her, or read “her” books without flinching and/or plugging their ears.

I understand that some hold the belief that the leaders of the world need to be “just like them” in order to understand their plight. I don’t agree with this for two reasons: first of all, empathy does not require identity of experience, second of all, there is no way on this green earth I am smart enough to be President, and I’m pretty smart. The complexities of the job are far beyond the “average” American, and the sooner the “average” American recognizes that, the better off we’ll be.

We’re talking about the Presidency. They should be the smartest person in the room. Cerebral, intimidating, even intimidatingly cerebral.  They shouldn’t necessarily be someone you want to have a cup of coffee, or a beer, with. Or should I say, would want to have a cup of coffee or a beer with you. That’s what your buddy from work or your best friend across town is for.

3 Responses to ““Palinschmerz””


  1. January 15, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    I’m so glad to hear you say that. Quite a few years ago I read Miracle at Philadelphia by Cathrine Drinker Bowen. I was amazed to learn that the average American wasn’t allowed to vote in the beginning. Now I completely understand that. Maybe we should go back to that. I really don’t think the average American is very smart. Or maybe it’s the fact that there a a lot of below average Americans who are allowed to vote.

  2. January 17, 2011 at 4:44 pm

    I agree too, Sheriji. One thing I learned in life is that everything is more complicated than it appears, and that simple “solutions” which don’t take into account that complexity rarely work.

  3. January 24, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    Ha! Very true. Thanks for the new term. I’m adding Palinschmerz to my vocabulary.


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 178 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 110,789 hits

