04
Dec
10

what makes us happy?

Can your spouse “make” you happy? Would a new job? New house? Car that gets better gas mileage? More respectful children? That vacation to Florence you’ve been postponing? Health? More money?

Contrary to popular opinion, none of those things will “make” you happy. Happiness is neither the result of physical nor emotional circumstance, but a state of mind.

If you don’t believe me, here’s the scientific explanation.

3 Responses to “what makes us happy?”


  1. December 4, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    Happiness is watching television at your girlfriends house, during a power failure.

    DS

  2. December 4, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    The Bible says we can’t rely on our emotions because they are fickle. So true.

    I became very happy today with all that I don’t have after realizing that someone I see around town once in awhile is homeless. I saw this person walking very far from town walking on the side of an extremely busy road that had no sidewalk or curb and he walks very slowly. It was dark and he is older. I inquired about him today at the grocery store where I have seen him working before and they said he only worked a few hours a week, almost never talks and is homeless. I suddenly felt very rich and riddled with guilt for all of my complaints of late and very sad.

  3. 3 grandpetcare
    December 10, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    Oh, absolutely true. I believe you, and I’m familiar with the scientific explanation. Doesn’t mean we stop WANTING those things, though, does it? Sometimes I still think things just MIGHT be better if X, Y or Z; even though I know better.


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 182 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Top Posts & Pages

Blog Stats

  • 110,128 hits

