23
Nov
10

stuff I’m thankful for

(Getting a head start on the holiday.)

1. A healthy body and mind, for myself and my family.

2. My husband

3. Coffee

4. An apparent end to my 8-day bout with insomnia

(hmm, interesting juxtaposition, that)

5. Wine, chocolate, risotto, and a kick-ass stuffing recipe

6. Technology

7. Gainful employment, for myself and my family

8. The poetry of Merwin, Billy Collins, Jane Kenyon, and Shakespeare

9. People who take turns merging on the highway, use their turn signals, and don’t tailgate

10. The Onion and The New Yorker

Your turn.

addendum:

11. Terrific colleagues — esp. DP, YW, and KB.

And FRIENDS; should have been #3! I’m a loser!!! Will try to make it up to you. . .stay tuned.

8 Responses to “stuff I’m thankful for”


  1. November 23, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    Al Gore for “inventing” the internet so we can read other’s wonderfully written blogs without leaving my warm home.

    Blessings,

    Ava

    xox

  2. 2 jill
    November 23, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    Good friends like you!

  3. November 23, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    People know how to merge where you live?

    *cough*

    Anyway . . .

    There is much I could be thankful for, I’ll point out the biggest.

    1. My daughter who teaches me more every day about life than I teach her about history, science, literature, art, and math.

    2. My three partners–especially the one with whom I live*–and my friends, for sticking with me through the trials and joys of my life, and supporting me when I might otherwise stumble.

    3. My mother who continues to reach out and care for me from halfway around the world.

    4. My father’s family who tolerates me at family gatherings despite being an alien in their midst.

    5. Internet connection, which provides me with the resources necessary to pursue my dreams and try my hand at earning an income as a writer and homeschooling parent.

    6. The instructors, mentors, and colleagues who lifted me up throughout my two years at university, and who continue now to encourage me to remain in connection with the department through them. I pray for the chance to return for the Masters program brewing.

    7. The ability to still walk; though there may be pain, and it may be a struggle, I still have some mobility.

    8. The opportunity to pay my way by providing healthy, loving meals to people I care about.

    9. My co-author for the stories we share, the jokes, the intense life histories, and the daughter we created long ago.

    10. For all those who guide and walk with me on my path, reminding me to stop and take a look at the world from a different stance.

    Oh yeah, and . . .

    11. Rachel Maddow.

  4. November 24, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    1. Jesus
    2. Husband
    3. Family
    4. Friends
    5. Shelter
    6. Food
    7. Transportation (van)
    8. Pleasures
    a) Coffee in the morning with cream, please
    b) Computer and Internet Connection
    Charles Stanley, David Jeremiah, Joel Osteen, First Orlando Baptist live feed on Sunday
    Blogs and Blogger friends
    c) Shady – our cat
    d) iPhone
    9. Trouble (small doses PLEASE) If it weren’t for my troubles, I wouldn’t appreciate peace.
    10.Peace…

    Blessings to you…

  5. November 24, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    We don’t have Thanksgiving here, so I never sit down and think about what I’m thankful for! (Clearly I’m not introspective enough to do it without some external stimulus)

    Anyway, the item I notice as being missing from the above lists is music (and I could go on at length with a list of musicians responsible for that).

    • November 24, 2010 at 4:51 pm

      I think for me that would fall under “inspiration,” and I ought to be thanking my muses as well! Music artists being just a segment–albeit a large one–of what inspires me. 🙂 Thank *you* for the reminder. ^_^

  6. November 25, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    My eyesight even though I have to wear reading glasses which is an enormous aggravation.
    My hearing, maybe the only thing not breaking down yet.
    Cymbalta which significantly curbs the joint and muscle pain of fibromyalgia.
    Chocolate of any kind.
    Sweet tea.
    My dog, cat and my daughters two dogs who have been living with us.
    The internet.
    My camera!


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 182 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Top Posts & Pages

Blog Stats

  • 110,128 hits

