14
Nov
10

to smoke or not to smoke. . .

Apparently, as Americans learn that smoking is bad for you and they shouldn’t do it, cigarette companies are being forced to cast high and low for new markets.  These efforts include suing other countries for “excessive regulations.”

In a related story, Indonesia is resisting this anti-smoking tide, as it continues to refuse to sign a global tobacco treaty and targets women and children in their advertising.

The effects of this attitude are made manifest in a “viral” video of this chain-smoking toddler:

I’m not making this up.

His parents apparently started him smoking at the age of 18 months, although the report does not say why. One could speculate, I suppose:  calmed him down after a tough day in the sandbox, helped him develop those handy steering-the-toy-tractor-with-one-hand skills so crucial to child development. I guess, since he’s not wearing any clothes, it’s unlikely that he would set himself on fire, so that takes care of what would have been one of my main concerns.

You will all be relieved to note that the toddler has kicked the habit.

Now if only he could take care of his drinking and gambling addictions, he could get into that prestigious preschool.

Okay, that part I made up.

8 Responses to “to smoke or not to smoke. . .”


  1. November 14, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    I found this information shocking. Oh my! That’s just not right. My heart goes out to this child and any others being so blatantly mistreated. Indonesia, you say. I will remember that country in my prayers. Blessings to you…

  2. November 14, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    He was taught to smoke so his father could charge admission for people to watch him. And he has not quit, just been tapered down after an intervention by Indonesian authorities.

  3. November 15, 2010 at 6:37 am

    Oh my goodness! I don’t know why I am endlessly shocked by such awful things!

  4. 7 chelsy pillsbury
    November 15, 2010 at 11:47 am

    Love your blog! And I’m glad someone else in concerned about the smokers across the globe. For me, my concern is for myself on a college campus. It’s gross. But I wrote about it the other day and then stumbled upon your blog! How convenient:)

    http://apushoversevilconscience.wordpress.com/2010/11/15/since-when-has-being-a-non-smoker-been-such-a-hassle/

  5. November 17, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    Shocking and disgusting. Is nothing sacred?


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 178 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 110,804 hits

