02
Nov
10

that thing with feathers

There are those who believe

that we live it all over and over

again until we get it right;

others, that everything happens

for a reason, or that we are all

just living according to Plan.

 

Whatever.

 

All I know is that I walked, for a

while, as if through water,

and all I knew was what I told

myself to be true despite all

evidence to the contrary.

 

Herotodus says that we only

have to speak

the truth we don’t

have to believe it.

 

I like that.

 

But this I know:

There are people and voices and reasons

that were not there before

and even the days that blacken

and fill with despair have this

sheen around the edges;

 

hope — that thing with feathers

which shouts in its silence.

 

Can you hear it?

1 Response to “that thing with feathers”


  1. November 3, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    mmmm…I like that. Some really interesting images. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 178 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 110,789 hits

