15
Oct
10

Panera Bread

What a gold mine, eh? I’ve never been in one that wasn’t lousy with customers.

Reasonable prices, food seems relatively healthful, plus there’s that beautiful counter of sweet pastries to tempt you on your way in or out.

For those of you not familiar with the Panera system, you are given your choice of sides with your meal: a white or whole-wheat baguette, a bag of chips, or an apple. I always think the offer of the baguette is a little odd when you’ve just ordered a sandwich, but I guess there are people in the world for whom there is no such thing as “too much bread.”  I have yet to get a decent apple there. I’m beginning to suspect some kind of subsidy, paid by the chip distributor, to ensure that the apples on offer are tough, mealy, and tasteless. Well, I guess not completely tasteless, if you consider “styrofoam” a flavor.

Thought I’d do a little research considering the “healthy” factor. Here’s my lunch:

Panera Lunch

Not as good as I’d hoped, but better than it could have been I guess. Seems like a lot of fat grams for half of a sandwich.

At least I didn’t get the chips.

1 Response to “Panera Bread”


  1. 1 jill
    October 16, 2010 at 8:37 am

    They didn’t offer me a baguette! I had no choice but to take the chips.


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 178 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 110,538 hits

