28
Feb
11

fashion assignment: fur

I’m sure this is protected somehow and I won’t be allowed to upload all of the pictures, so if you want to see the slide show, click here.

I get the sense that Ms. Giannini was given an assignment: use fur in any color, but it must involve draping over the shoulders, and be in excessive proportion to the rest of the outfit. Jewel tones and an off-center slit in the skirt will earn extra credit points. And maybe I’m a prude, but necklines cut wide and to my waist or sheer tops worn without a bra just aren’t going to “fit” into my life. I guess it might get those college boys to pay attention in class, but probably not to what I’m talking about.

I get it that certain things are in style (and then they aren’t, but that’s a topic for another day). But do we really need this many versions of: trousers, gauchos, fur capes or trim, sheer “skirts,” and double-breasted dress/coats?

p.s. That skinny Calvin Klein girl shows up on the ads to the right of the Gucci slide show. This woman is not attractive, and the clothes are worse. Is this supposed to be the ideal we all aspire to?

8 Responses to “fashion assignment: fur”


  1. February 28, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    It seems to me that Jenifer Hudson is thinner than what would be normal for her. Sad to see that she thought she had too do that.

  2. February 28, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    You’re so funny about fashion! I liked these clothes, especially the colors. Clearly fur was a theme in this collection. While I won’t wear it myself, I do have to say the luxury of how it looks is visually appealing.

    Lots of couture fashion is not meant to be worn, it’s mean to be provocative. That’s why they put it in the shows, to incite comment. Some of those pieces are about artistic expression, not about wearable clothes. Clothes and fashion are really not one and the same. Having said that, there was plenty of wearable fashion in that show. Plenty of trousers, tops, coats, etc. that a person could wear. Many fewer silly things than are in most designer’s shows, I’ll say that.

    Yes, the Calvin Klein model has a ‘challenging’ look. But that’s a big look for models nowadays. It’s “ugly-pretty”. They are really choosing women for their rather harsh or androgynous looks. It’s the going thing. I happen to like CK’s clothes for the spareness. And it’s true, a lot of people can’t wear that type of thing, myself included.

    Models are something like 1% of the population in terms of body type. So no, most of us can’t pull off a lot of what models wear successfully. We aren’t meant to. Have you seen the people who wear designer clothes? They’re ultra, ultra thin. They look good in that sh*t. The rest of us don’t. And guess what? Most of us don’t have the kind of money it takes to buy clothes like that, so we can either enjoy vicariously or not. I think you should stop torturing yourself by looking at fashion! It’s either fun and theatrical, or not. Clearly for you it’s not. Why bother?

  3. March 1, 2011 at 10:15 am

    I love seeing things like this and I don’t think we’re supposed to take it seriously! A sensible person can take inspiration from this, realising that it is ‘fashion’ and not real life.

  4. March 2, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    First (to the first commenter) I am a woman who messed up her knees and her blood pressure with a previous weight gain, and I have to say that Jennifer Hudson doesn’t seem skinny to me, just healthy. I do hope that Hollywood doesn’t encourage her to go further, from healthy to bony and anorexic.

    Second, I believe that fur is absolutely beautiful on the animal, but cruel worn on the twenty-first century human who has other choices for warmth and beauty. Show me the proof that a beautiful animal died of natural causes, and the maker of the garment was attempting to lessen waste and do tribute to the animal’s beauty, and that would be the fur garment I wouldn’t consider cruel.

    And to anyone who would want to argue with me about this, I repeat the spirit of the comment I made on the previous post — and acknowledge again that almost every choice we consumers have to make negatively impacts someone or something. The absolute least I can do in order to be a better human being, is to make real choices about things I can actually see upfront, so I do.

    • March 2, 2011 at 10:12 pm

      First, I’m concerned that you don’t think Jennifer Hudson looks anorexic. She’s a skeleton!

      Second, I agree about fur. I would LOVE a fur coat, but can’t bear the thought of the cruelty. Was wondering if it was okay to buy “vintage,” since the coat was made long ago. Probably not.


Leave a Reply

Reader Appreciation Award

Share This

Share |

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 176 other followers

Follow me on Twitter: sheriji1

Blog Stats

  • 103,176 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 176 other followers

